Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

• CommentAuthorThe User
    • CommentTimeJun 8th 2013 edited

Why did this question disappear (http://mathoverflow.net/questions/133049/is-riemannian-integration-sufficient-in-physics)? One person had objections regarding the question (off-topic…), but I did not read any other objections.

See here and here for some background.

• CommentAuthorThe User
    • CommentTimeJun 8th 2013 edited

I already noticed that the question was posed by a user with a certain “historical background”—but is that a reason for deletion? (that is a serious question, I am not that experienced here) It seems like most people regarded this question as not completely non-valuable and there were some discussions.

Elsewhere on meta, François Dorais recently commented "Users that have questions or concerns regarding this and related situations should contact moderators@mathoverflow.net." I expect this comment could apply to this question as well.

• CommentAuthorquid
    • CommentTimeJun 8th 2013

I agree with Todd Trimble, in particular since from the timeline it seems very likely the question was deleted by a moderator and they would not delete it under any normal circumstances. (Tangentially, The User, please do not infer what "most people" thought about the question from what is visible, I for one just stopped complaining or doing anything about such things as it got too tiresome and frustrating over time. But your question is a natural one. This is really only a tangential remark out of principle. And I would say there is a quite good chance the question gets restored if the moderators are made aware of the interest of some people in it.)

• CommentAuthorThe User

@quid Ok, you are right that I should not have said “most”, but there are also many people who still complain about questions.
    • CommentAuthorabatkai

• CommentAuthorjbc
    • CommentTimeJun 15th 2013